The good, the bad, and the ugly

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

 

At the beginning of my field time a friend gave me this verse, little did she know that it would reign so true in my life. During my time in IGNITE, the Lord has been teaching me what different seasons look like. My time in Guatemala was a beautiful season of deep conviction and finding the Lord. I woke up every morning with a new song in my heart, I was filled with the joy of the Lord.  My field time has been a tad bit different, it has been a time of heartache and weariness. A time of deep trust and Spiritual perseverance. Alas, this is where this verse comes into play. Walking the spiritual mountain tops of Guatemala were wonderful and much needed. But, my desert solitude of Browning has been a season I would never change.

 

“He has made everything beautiful in its time”.

 

 Dry seasons are beautiful too, they develop your character. This season in Browning has helped me see myself for who I truly am. Which is not an easy place to be, but boy has I found out what God’s grace looks like. This time has been invaluable to help me to grow into the woman I am today. Has it been hard? Yes. Did I hate it at times? Yes. But, It has shown itself beautiful in its time.

 

He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end

 

 The second part of this verse is encouraging for those desert times. We cannot “fathom what God has done from beginning to end”. The definition of fathom is to understand the reason for (something). We cannot understand the why behind anything God is doing. I can ask over and over again, why did God bring me to Browning? Why does life have to be hard all the time? The answers are not for me to understand. But, what I know is what his word says,
“He has made everything beautiful in its time”.

Leave a Reply

