This morning I read Exodus 16, this is the chapter when the Israelites are whiny to Moses and Aaron about being in the wilderness.  

 “Would that we had died by the hand of the Lord in the land of Egypt when we sat by the meat pots and ate bread to the full, for you have brought us out into this wilderness to kill this whole assembly with hunger.” Exodus 16:3

The Israelites were scared and weary, but the Lord heard their cries and sent them the solution. He sent them food that they would gather each day for their daily portions (Vs. 4).

  Many times in my life I cry out to the Lord, doubting his goodness. I find myself in the same place as these people, tired and weary.  Israel was looking back to the sacrifices that they had to make to follow the Lord, I have been caught in this so much in this season of life. The fact is when reading this the Lord helped me see how much I compare to these whining people.

  These people (and myself) were given their freedom, safety and the portion of strength that always will be sufficient for the day. God didn’t ask me to look ahead and think about how I am going to make it to the finish line, but instead, he wakes me up every morning promising me that His grace is sufficient.

When realizing this, this morning my mind instantly went to the verse Psalms 27:13-14.  

 “I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the LORD in the land of living! Wait for the LORD;  be strong, and let your heart take courage: wait for the LORD!”

I have spent so much of my field time looking around and doubting the Lord’s goodness. I have spent 4 months weighing my sacrifice of coming to Browning, and out of my discontentment have been blinded to the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living.

Moses said to the people, “Your grumbling is not against us but against the Lord” (Exodus 16:8).

And 1 Samuel 12:24 says,

“But be sure to fear the Lord and serve him faithfully with all your heart; consider what great things he has done for you.”

  Consider the great things he has done for us! My sacrifice to endure the coldness of Browning is nothing compared to the Cross my Jesus joyfully endured.

  Lord, Forgive my grumbling heart. I have been counting my sacrifices when you only care for obediences. Give me a zeal for your church once again. Help me to never grow blind to your goodness in the land of the living. Help my weary heart take courage in you.  Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

