“Go and proclaim in the hearing of Jerusalem, Thus says the Lord, “I remember the devotion of your youth,   your love as a bride, how you followed me in the wilderness,  in a land not sown. Jeremiah 2:2

 

I read this verse in a devotional the other day, it really touched me because I felt like this was written to my current situation. During my time in Guatemala, I learned what a life looked like fully surrender. I was completely on fire for the Lord. When asked to pray about coming to Browning the Lord told me it would a time that he called me out into the desert place, to a place not yet sown. Fully trusting the Lord’s character I obeyed to take the place. More than halfway through my field time the Lord asked me again to return to a desert place. I truly struggled with this, do I still trust the Lord’s goodness in this? That is when the Lord asked me to remember the devotion of my youth, remember the zeal that I once brought.

Lord, I don’t necessary want to be here anymore, but I will trust you. So I pray that my heart will be changed towards this place. Lord, replace my disappointment with zeal. Give me a new love for the people here.

 

Leave a Reply

