Middle kid

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9
 This verse has been written to me in 3 different letters recently. In the past week, the Lord has really been bringing it into play.
  I have always had this strong desire to be a leader. But, I have always suffered from the “so-called middle child syndrome”. If I am in the midst of a natural born leader, I tend to fall back into the middle kid box. This isn’t a jab at any leader in my life by no means. And I definitely don’t want anybody to step down to allow me to step up. But I am simply stating what my natural tendency are.
 Like I said I have a strong desire to be a leader but I lack it in many ways. I know that the Lord put this desire of my heart and that he will bring it to fruition and it’s time. But, I ask how can this be Lord because…  I wouldn’t say that my spiritual gift is leadership by any means, and People’s first instinct isn’t to tell me what a natural born leader I am. But through this verse the Lord has shown me many things. First that he can make me into anything he wants, “do not be afraid”. Second that you don’t have to be a “natural born leader” to be a leader. All you have to do is know and remember every day that the Lord is in your midst. That our power comes from him and that we can walk in boldness and confidence knowing who we are when sitting in his presence.
 “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”
Acts 1:8a says “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you”.
So, Lord, I ask that you fill me with your Spirit so I might walk in power to share you. May I be reminded every day that you are with me. Thank you, Lord, for the things you show each and every one of us every day. Amen!

Leave a comment